English post : A bookish trip to England!

Hi! As you may know, I’m currently on vacation! I realised it’s the last holidays before summer vacation which makes me feel pretty nostalgic even though I can’t wait for summer. The second week of holidays started a few days ago and on the first week I went to England with my parents, my sister, my grandmother, my cousin and my aunt (yes, it’s A LOT of people 😉 ). I have really enjoyed this trip because it’s been a long time since I went there with my family. I was so excited!!

As you already know, friends of mine live in England, including Zoë, who has a wonderful book-blog (Click here to access it). I had a great time there but I feel like it went by really fast…

I visited lots of places as National Trusts, which are big houses you can visit easily all around the country, they’re all different and there are beautiful gardens. In one of them, there was a huge Japanese garden, I loved it! I also went in different coffee shops and bookstores.

In my last post (Click here if you haven’t read it yet), I talked to you about my new books. Well, I bought them all during the trip. When I got back to my house I decided to organise my bookshelves because they were not tidy. My sister helped me and now it is beautiful!

Here are some books I got and that I really want to read (I included a summary in each of them) :

  1. A Cornish Escape by Jenny Kane :

Abi’s life is turned upside down when she is widowed before her thirtieth birthday. Determined to find something positive in the upheaval, Abi decides to make a fresh start somewhere new. With fond childhood memories of holidays in a Cornish cottage, could Cornwall be the place to start over? With all her belongings in the boot of her car but no real plan, a chance meeting in a village pub brings new friends Beth and Max into her life. Max soon helps Abi track down the house of her dreams but things aren’t as simple as Abi hoped. 

This book seems to be so good! It makes me feel so relaxed…

2. A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson :

The case is closed. Five years ago, schoolgirl Andie Bell was murdered by Sal Singh. The police know he did it. Everyone in town knows he did it.

But having grown up in the same small town that was consumed by the murder, Pippa Fitz-Amobi isn’t so sure. When she chooses the case as the topic for her final year project, she starts to uncover secrets that someone in town desperately wants to stay hidden. And if the real killer is still out there, how far will they go to keep Pip from the truth?

This book was a gift. I had alreay heard about it so I’m glad I can read it now!

3. Perfectly Preventable Deaths by Deirdre Sullivan :

Everyone in Ballyfran has a secret, and that is what binds them together…

Fifteen-year-old twins Madeline and Catlin move to a new life in Ballyfran, a strange isolated town, a place where, for the last sixty years, teenage girls have gone missing in the surrounding mountains.

As distance grows between the twins – as Catlin falls in love, and Madeline begins to understand her own nascent witchcraft – Madeline discovers that Ballyfrann is a place full of predators. Not only foxes, owls and crows, but also supernatural beings who for many generations have congregated here to escape persecution. When Catlin falls into the gravest danger of all, Madeline must ask herself who she really is, and who she wants to be – or rather, who she might have to become to save her sister.

This book caught my attention, it is really dark and scary but I don’t often read books of that type. It will make me discover something else!

This post is over! It’s been a long time since I wrote a post about books but everytime I wite them, I am really happy. Thank you for taking the time to read, let me know if you want more posts about literature!

Laisser un commentaire